Just Helen Keller

Now and then I have tested my seeing friends to discover what they see.

Recently I asked a friend who had just returned from a long walk in the woods, what she had observed. “Nothing in particular”, she replied.

 
How was it possible, I asked myself, to walk for an hour through the woods and see nothing worthy of note?

I, who cannot see, find hundreds of things to interest me through mere touch.

I feel delicate symmetry of a leaf. I pass my hands lovingly about the smooth skin of a silver birch, or the rough, shaggy bark of a pine. In spring I touch the branches of trees nature after her winter’s sleep. Occasionally, if I am very fortunate, I place my hand gently on a small tree and feel the happy quiver of a bird in full song.

 
~ Helen Keller

 

One thought on “Just Helen Keller

Leave a Reply

